Childhood Asthma

image

My youngest daughter Scarlet who is now nearly 3 suffers with Asthma. It can be a really scary illness especially when she struggles to breathe.
When Scarlet was 1 year old she became very poorly and I noticed she was working very hard to breathe. Her stomach was drawing in with every breath and she found it hard to talk.
I rang 111 and they advised me to take her to my GP. Luckily they had 1 emergency appointment left so I took her straight away.
When we got to the doctors she was seen within 5 minutes, the doctor looked at her noticed how hard she was working so he decided to check her oxygen levels.  They were lower then normal so he made the decision to send her to hospital. I was quite calm at this point until he rang for an ambulance, I then started to panic. This was  obviously more serious then I thought.
Once we were in the ambulance they gave her some oxygen and we made our way to the hospital.

When we arrived we were took straight into a side room where she carried on with the oxygen.
She spent a night on oxygen in the hospital and we were discharged the day after.
Scarlet was suffering with bronchiolitis. It’s only then I knew that this horrible illness exsited and actually is quite common in children under 2.

image

The NHS website explains that, Bronchiolitis is a common lower respiratory tract infection that affects babies and young children under two years old.

Symptoms include:
a slight high temperature (fever)
a dry and persistent cough
difficulty feeding
rapid or noisy breathing (wheezing)

Since then when Scarlet has a cold her chest begins to wheeze and her breathing deteriates. She has been in and out of hospital since then with breathing difficulties and she has now finally been diagnosed with Asthma.
I have to carry around her inhalers, as well as a spacer everywhere I go incase she needs it.

Scarlet can’t run around and do anything to energetic for to long as she gets short of breath. This is horrible to watch as she loves to run around like a crazy child.

I was relieved when she was diagnosed as I can now deal with it at home and we have far less trips to the hospital.

Most children grow out of childhood Asthma and im hoping Scarlet is the same.

Leave a Reply

