Why Won’t My Daughter Sleep

I have two girls and my eldest Chloe (who is nearly 5) had a really good sleep routine from a very early age. But my youngest daughter Scarlet (who is 2) will not sleep on her own, in her own bed.

When she was a baby she was no trouble, she would go to bed at 7 and wake up the next morning at 8 which was amazing.

When she Turned 1 she fell ill with bronchilitus, which made it difficult for her to breathe and we had numerous trips to the hospital. I was to scared to leave her in her cot in case she stopped breathing, so I had her sleep in my bed.

I no this is frowned upon and is probably the reason why she now doesn’t sleep on her own, but I was so paranoid that she would stop breathing and I wouldn’t be there to assist her, that’s why I just couldn’t let her sleep on her own.

When she turned 2 I brought her a big girl bed in the hope that making her feel special she may just sleep. This lasted for 2 nights and she slept through.

After the two nights she went back to her normal self, and would wake up all hours screaming to be with me.

I tried the let them cry it out thing but this never worked either,  she would get so upset which would then have an effect on her breathing again.

She was diagnosed with asthma when she was 2 and this has also made me dubious about her sleeping on her own. I have thoughts run through my mind, what If she has an asthma attack while we are all asleep so it’s back to square one and she’s back with me.

She’s now 2 and a half and her asthma is 1000 times better and I’m feeling it’s time to try again.

At the moment I’m putting her to bed when my eldest goes to bed and I cuddle her till she falls asleep.

She sleeps till midnight then wakes up screaming for me, so I get back in her bed and get her back to sleep again. This can go on 3 to 4 times a night, and is now taking its toll on me.

Any advice is welcomed as I’m willing to try anything.

Leave a Reply

