my lovely extended family.

So this week I have been poorly sick, I have been cooped up in bed with the flu.

my mother and father in law have been life savers and have looked after my two girls. which I know they have had lots of fun doing.

Yesterday my other half managed to get the day off work so he could look after Scarlet our youngest.

He was amazing,he left me in bed and brought me the occasional cup of tea, and even came up every half hour just to check I was ok.

My father in law Jim picked up my eldest, Chloe from school and took her back to his house. He then prepared dinner ready to bring round to my house so I didn’t have to cook. which was very thoughtful.

He made his very tasty meatballs and spaghetti, now Jim is an amazing cook and I have learnt a lot from him. he is one of the reasons that inspired me to cook.

I thought it may be a nice idea to share his recipe as it really is a lovely meal, and is cheap and easy to make.

The meatballs aren’t your traditional beef mince meatballs, which to be honest im happy about as I’m not to keen on beef mince.

So the ingredients and method are as follows.

FOR THE MEATBALLS

6 Pork and Leek Sausages (or 2 sausages per person)

1onion diced

Green finger chillies ( 1 for every 2 sausages)

RAGU SAUCE

1 onion

1 packet of mushrooms chopped

3 garlic cloves crushed

7 tomatoes (can be substituted for a tin of chopped tomatoes)

Small bottle of your favourite red wine

1 tablespoon of tomato puree

Start by making the meatballs. Grab a mixing bowl and make a cut through the skin of the sausages and add the meat to the bowl.

Dice the onion into small pieces and add to the bowl.  Then chop the chillies and throw them in to.

Get your hands and squeeze all the meat onions and chillies until well mixed.

Take handfuls of the mixture and roll into balls and set aside.

Boil the kettle then cut a cross in the bottom of each tomato and put in a bowl. When the kettles boiled pour the water over the tomatoes and leave for a minute. The skin should now come off the tomatoes with ease.  Once they have been skinned chop up into quarters. Then set aside.

Grab a saucepan and add a dash of oil, add the meatballs and seal. Take the meatballs out the pan and set aside.

Chop up the onion and add to the saucepan, once the onions become translucent add the chopped mushrooms and crushed garlic, until onions and mushrooms have browned.

Add the tomatoes and 1 tablespoon of tomato puree and a good glug of the red wine. Bring to the boil and simmer for 10 minutes.

Add the meatballs and cook until they are cooked all the way through (usually about 30 mins)

While this is cooking, cook up the spaghetti according to the packet.

When everything’s cooked serve with garlic bread and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

